INTERVIEW – BEC FROM BEC AND BEN

There are a lot of women out there already rocking the mic on the scene right now, but we here at MSR HQ believe that Bec has what it takes to take the front woman status in Sydney band to the next level. Alongside her partner in crime, Ben (of Bec and Ben) well who knows what’s on the horizon? world fame? murder? a bank robbery? only time will tell.

Bec took a little time out from her busy schedule to answer a few questions. Oh and she and Ben i.e.; Bec and Ben are launching their debut ep on Friday at Brighton Up Bar, Sydney. So maybe you should go…

Where did you grow up? Bundaberg.

Was music in the family or did you pick it up somewhere? Between the womb and five, I was raised in a motel room above a pub that my mum and dad ran. Australian Pub Rock music naturally embedded my consciousness and my dad was a massive Midnight Oil fan, therefore, without consent, so too am I.

Can you recall one of your favourite early childhood memories? My parents claim the first time I ever danced was in my nappy, jumping on the bed to ‘Beds are Burning’ by Midnight Oil. My poppy was in the army and he taught me how to prepare a regimented Christmas pantomime, which I executed (for a gold coin donation) every year. I think that’s why my cousins hated me.

How did you meet Ben? Gum Tree.

Ben seems like a real gentleman at heart, give us a small insight into the real Ben… He is a gentleman most of the time, excluding these particular situations; problems with his amp/peddles, female fans that turn out to be lesbians (yay me!), when I speed up the tempo of the drums because I’m excited, or when Mickys on Oxford St is closed.

Did you always want to be in a band? No.

Does writers block exist? No.

If you weren’t making music what would you be doing? Blowing balloons and painting faces at kid’s birthday parties.

Where does the idea of a song come from for you?
From my opinion.

What inspires you to remain creative? The possibility of having an office job. My mum; she’s super creative and inspires me to keep moving further into the unknown.

Which female artists have inspired you over the years? Joan Jett, Deborah Harry, Stevie Nicks, Alison Mosshart, Dolores O’Riordan, Shania Twain and The Spice Girls.

Here’s a little scenario, it’s the end of the world, they’re shipping out special humans to outer spas to start a new colony on Mars, you can only take 5 things… My mum, dad, brother, brother, sister. Are we meant to breed/re-produce? (re-submit this, if this is required)

Here’s another scenario, you’re stuck on island, any 3 songs for survival? ‘The Power’ by Snap!, ‘Message in a bottle’ by The Police and (if I happen to be stranded with a European underwear model) ‘Can’t get enough of your love’ by Barry White.

Here’s another scenario, you’re stuck on an island full of dingo’s… Become God!

What’s the best thing about being an independent artist right now? Learning new business, media, production and networking skills.

What would you change to make things better for independent artists in general? A Government Incentive Creative Rebate of $6,000 for anyone brave and talented enough to contribute their lives to improving the nations’ creative assets. They do that for babies don’t they?

What are your thoughts about the internet and downloading? I’m against piracy. Especially, film and music piracy. I hate it.

You have a brand new ep coming out ‘Butterknives to Razorblades’, how would you explain the process of making this record? The title is a good analogy of the entire experience, but lets just say we remove the word ‘Butterknives’ and replace it with ‘cheap’ and the word ‘Razorblades’ with ‘costly’. Worth it.

Which artist would you love most to play with? Jack White.

Favourite song right now? ‘Hey’ by the Pixies.

Name the best live gig you’ve seen to date. La Soiree. I fainted. For real.

Name the best gig you’ve played? Our warehouse party.

Are you a fan of the big festivals? or more intimate gigs? I love big, sweaty, all day festivals but to be honest, I’m just not attracted to them anymore. I went to Good Vibrations in Sydney, it put me off for life. Having said this, I’m excited for Peats Ridge this year. Anyone wanna pitch my tent?

You guys give off a lot of energy for a two piece, why this is so? Because I’m not really a drummer, I’m a frustrated woman with sticks, this means our live sets are always on the edge of disaster. This propels any frustration I have about my en-abilities into real tension energy. Also, I am a performer so, aside from the above, I am genuinely excited about being onstage.

What’s on the horizon for Bec and Ben? National RSL Tour.

Are you a movie buff or a book head? give us your current face’s… Moonrise Kingdom, Melancholia, Gummo, The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra.

Any recent life changing moments? Right now. This moment is life changing.

Cremation or Burial? Eternity

Any last words of wisdom? Contribute to an enlightened planetary civilisation; start by being nice to others and pick up your rubbish.

Leave a comment